8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Elmo ST800 - Fuse trouble

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Elmo ST800 - Fuse trouble
Daniel Florence
Junior

- posted February 12, 2011 09:00 AM      Profile for Daniel Florence     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello, I’m new on this forum ! I’ve been collecting super 8 films for 40 years, mainly cartoons and classic comedies.
I’ve got a question about Elmo ST800 projectors. I have bought two of them, they look as new but the main fuse always burns when I plug the projector. It’s just the same with a 5 A fuse instead of the original 3 A.
Does somebody know where this trouble comes from ? It seems to be quite common with ST800 since I have a third one which can work only with a 5 A fuse.

|  IP: Logged

Jean-Christophe Deblock
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted February 12, 2011 09:06 AM      Profile for Jean-Christophe Deblock     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Bienvenue Daniel!

I agree.

I have the same problem with mine.

Anybody a solution?

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted February 12, 2011 02:30 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There's something really wrong here.

I have a 3 amp fuse in my ST-800 and have never blown it in about 8 years of use. Both of you live in places where the line voltage is about double mine, so your line current should be about half, so if I never blow a fuse you should never, never blow a fuse!

The machine that blows the fuse right from the start probably has a short circuit someplace: maybe on the line to the main transformer, maybe inside the transformer itself, maybe something connected on the output side of the transformer.