8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm films for sale/trade/wanted   » Best print for Star Wars

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Best print for Star Wars
Hamid Moqadam
Film Handler

- posted August 29, 2009 08:02 PM      Profile for Hamid Moqadam   Email Hamid Moqadam   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,
Im new in 8mm forum.

Im starting collecting recently feature films on super 8 and 16mm. I hope someone can help me where I can find Star Wars/ Empire/ Return of the Jedi, whether in super 8 or 16mm print in mint condition. I know Derann have new print right now for Jedi, but im not sure If its best print comparing to their old prints. If any one can help I will be very grateful.

Many thanks.

[ August 31, 2009, 04:59 PM: Message edited by: Hamid Moqadam ]

|  IP: Logged

Graham Sinden
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted September 01, 2009 11:37 AM      Profile for Graham Sinden   Email Graham Sinden   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Hamid,

Good luck with your quest of finding Star Wars but you will have a very hard time indeed. I would love a copy but have only seen 1 copy for sale and that went for more than I could afford at the time [Frown] . If you are very lucky enough to find a near mint scope copy you will find another 50 collectors after it. I dont know if copies of Star Wars varied over the print run and when D***nn stopped selling it. Usually the early copies of most films are the best, certaintly from the 1980's onwards.

As for 'Empire' I think phil sold it from CHC. Dont know about anyone else. Not sure of the print quality but CHC films come from germany and may be more grainy than D***nn's (thats what I find anyway)