8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » Just Who Do You Trust.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Just Who Do You Trust.
Paul Barker
Master Film Handler

- posted June 21, 2014 11:37 AM      Profile for Paul Barker   Email Paul Barker   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
hi to all. im 63 years old and new to the forum. i have been collecting 8 and 16mm film since i was nine years old. i have been in and out of the hobby several times over the years in fact just a few years ago i completely sold all my films and went fully digital.however on retireing from work in august last year i wanted to get back into 16mm. which i did.my reason for leaving this hobby in the past was because i kept getting sold films that were falsely described. ie condition not as described by seller. so i decided this time i would only purchase from sellers or dealers i could trust.well it hasnt taken long to be let down yet again. over several months i purchased 2 16mm features from paul foster. they were as described. excellent prints in mint condition. just recently i purchased a third 16mm feature off paul ANIMAL CRACKERS. now this one was really poor. bad print and scratches even though it was advertised as excellent print in mint condition. i complained but seller did not want to know. i paid £110 for it and ended up selling it on ebay for £42. i had by the way given a true description of its condition. so i took a loss. but to me the biggest looser is the seller. i suppose like anything you buy, you only find out how good the aftersales is from a seller is when you have a problem. i find it very sad that a seller has to resort to such tactics to off load a film that has been on there lists for ages. i advise all collectors to ask as many questions they can before commiting to buy.

|  IP: Logged

Michael O'Regan
Film God