8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » Cure for VS

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Cure for VS
Terry Sills
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted October 01, 2017 08:27 AM      Profile for Terry Sills     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Now I'm not a scientist or an engineer (but Science was always my favourite subject at school) - but I am an experimenter.
I want to relate my experience of tackling VS because it has worked for me and who knows there may be a scientific explanation, who knows.
I had a 1600ft reel of black & white film which was suffering from VS and because I didn't want to lose it I decided to experiment on a treatment.
I have noticed that on some old reels of film not suffering from the syndrome, particularly ones stored in tins, that they have a smell of mothballs. So this started me thinking that perhaps an ingredient of them was protecting the film.
Now in the U.K. I'm told It is not possible to buy mothballs any more because of the idiot terrorists that have used them to make explosives! So I know that the main ingredient of mothballs is Camphor and consequently bought some Camphor oil in a small bottle. Because the oil is a fairly thick consistency I decided to dilute it with WD40 ( Richard Patchett will be horrified) and gave the film a liberal coating on both sides using a microporous cloth. After the first application I waited a few days but the VS was still discernible although masked somewhat by the smell of Camphor.
I repeated the procedure two or three times, waiting a week between each application and now the reel is free from the smell of VS and also of the smell of Camphor.
No damage has been caused to the emulsion and the film is perfectly projectionable. There is still a little warping, but that was there before my treatment.