Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

HELP: Questions about the 1910's Pathé projectors!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP: Questions about the 1910's Pathé projectors!

Hello everyone,

Feels fantastic to have been made part of the community - thank you so much. I'll be forthright and say that I have little to no experience with the old projectors (or projectors in general) and am seeking out what is probably going to sound like very foolish newbie assistance! (On that note, I sincerely hope I've posted this in the right forum; I tried to do a search beforehand for where to post.)

I'm working on a project pertaining to the family of the former Russian Tsar Nicholas II. They were said to have received a Pathé projector shortly before the Revolution, upon which they watched a number of silent films. (Specifically, it seems one of the children received one, too - I don't know if these were the same or different ones.) I also can't seem to figure out any of the details despite careful searching, so I would love to know if anyone might have more specific ideas about the Pathé projectors from that time.

The details I would specifically love to know was how big these might have been (weight and overall size, and if they could have been easily transported), if they used a hand crank or could be used electrically (the last Tsar's family supposedly had theirs set up to their electricity), etc. Of course if anyone knows about the films projected on the old Pathé projectors, too, that would be awesome!

Any help at all is much appreciated. Thank you for your time, everyone! 🙂 Happy Holidays to you all!

I would assume that they have had a projector for 28mm films (aka Pathé KOK): http://www.pathefilm.uk/twentyeight/28kok.htm

Comment

Originally posted by Joerg Polzfusz View Post
      ...I would assume that they have had a projector for 28mm films (aka Pathé KOK}...
      Here is an interesting video on this projector.