Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best type of 16mm Projector for large hall screenings

Hi.

16mm newbie here, based in the US. Looking for recommendations for a good 16mm projector to screen features in a large hall. Not super technically minded, just want to screen some features I’ve acquired over the years. Previously I’ve been a Super 8 collector (own an Elmo GS 1200).

Any advice on a solid, user friendly 16mm projector I should look out for would be appreciated.

Try and find a Bell & Howell TQ1 or TQ3 that has had the worm gear replaced. That should then be reliable for a while.

Comment

Thanks for that. BTW this came up on eBay and wondered if this projector would be a good fit for me. Or are there any major negatives regarding it. It’s a GRAFLEX MODEL 915 16MM SOUND PROJECTOR

Comment

How large is the hall, and the screen?

Typical halogen lamp projectors (90% of typical "classroom" projector) should be able to handle 4'-6' screen no problem, or even up to 8'-10' in a right condition. Anything larger than that you may need projector with xenon lamp, which will probably cost $$$ (or $,$$$) if you can find ones in good working condition.

Apart from that my preference would be slot-load or manual - load machine. Most autoload projector sucks, that's the hard fact. The no.1 choice for me would be Eiki projector due to its simplicity. Pretty easy to service and less parts to go wrong. Elmo would have (much) better build quality, but not as simple as Eiki.

I have limited experience with US - made machine ones but one thing for sure - AVOID BELL&HOWELL PROJECTOR AT ALL COST. The untested / unused ones will definitely have cracked nylon worm drive - some $$ and very, very time consuming to replace. A "fully serviced" projector would cost you more than Eiki or Elmo for the same performance, so that no longer make sense to me. Others may have different opinion on this however so that's up to you.

Comment