Problem With eBay Purchase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem With eBay Purchase

I have been collecting films for 74 years but never have I bought a film like I received recently. A 16mm one hour TV programme described by the seller as in very good condition turned out to have 29 taped joins in it. But worst of all, the adhesive had "bled" out on to several proceeding and succeeding turns of the film with spots of "goo". But, even worse, all were stuck quite tightly together. It took many hours of work cleaning it all off with isopropyl alcohol.

Of course, one does expect a TV programme to have a few joins where the commercials have been, but, 29? Some of these were only a foot apart.

I sent an email to the seller advising him of my findings and suggested a small refund (I paid £100) for the work I had done. Here is his reply:-

"The film was advertised as an original transmission print. Taking this and itself into account, I consider my description to be accurate. I haven't seen this for a little while but it went through my projector with no problem and I found the picture quality very good with crystal clear soundtrack. If you are not happy with it, please return it for a full refund."

I think that it could not have been shown for many years for it to have got to a state where it was obviously impossible to project as received.

I left a negative feedback.

The seller is Patrick Duffy and his eBay name is jedikiagirls.

Maurice

I`m not a going to paypal fan Maurice but I think you maybe should here.

As much in an effort to protect other buyers.

There is no way at all anyone could say that was very good condition by any stretch.

You deserved a 50% refund at the very least and an apology.

Sorry about the bad luck.

I can imagine the sinking feeling when you got it out of its pack !!!

Best Mark.

Comment

Thank you, Mark