New guy with some questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy with some questions

Hi, if these questions are too beginner-ish I understand, I'm trying to dip my toes in the film water and I hope I don't fall in the deep end and get discouraged. I am a compete beginner and don't understand much of anything beyond point and shoot on auto setting. To make things worse I have a young family and I like to record music at home so I have limited time to tinker...

That said, my sister gave me an old family super 8 recording, and I barely remembered watching family home movies via a projector when I was tiny. I started researching and I bought a projector off ebay so we can see what's on the tape, and I went a little crazy and bought a camera off ebay too.

My desire for the tape is to check it out and if it's indeed family stuff then I'd like to convert to digital to distribute to family.
    With the camera I'd like to tape footage of my kids while they're young, digitize, then add music. Family memories etc. Maybe make some movies for fun with the kids.

The projector I got is a Bolex SP-8 and the camera is a 260S-XL.

So here's my questions:

1) Don't want to start a war but what's the best, easiest, DIY way to digitize super 8 film? I see 3 ways on the internet, recording off the projection screen, wolverine, and camera up to projector lens. I don't need awesome pro results, but I need it to be good enough that my wife doesn't keep asking me why I just don't just use a modern camera. For option 3, my wife has a Nikon D3100 and an Canon EOS1 Mark II.

2) What film do I use? I see there's reversal and negative (which should I get, I guess this might depend on the answer to question #1), is there also interior and exterior?

3) Am I forgetting anything?

Thanks in advance for any help.

A couple of updates: