Super 8 feature film lengths?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Super 8 feature film lengths?

Super 8 film newbie here. I see Super 8 feature films sold on eBay a lot. They are usually just one 6" reel (20 min approx.). Were Super 8 films not full length? I figured most Hollywood film on Super 8 would span multiple reels, to be full length (1hr 30min approx). Or maybe reels are lost over time? Just curious. Thank you.

Many sellers, who don't know any better, will advertise they're digests as feature films, and not necessarily on purpose, they just don't know any better. That's why it is more important that the buyer knows what they are interested in, as you can't always trust a sellers knowledge.

Comment

What must be said here is first welcome to the forum we are always on the lookout for a new super eight film collectors

what you speak of are called digest Prints as Osi says. Perhaps you know this already but I'm going to say it anyway

A digest print is a short version of the movie with some narration in between the action scenes with most of the non-action scenes from the feature length version deleted.

these sold for much less than a complete feature and the advantage was to have a bunch of these and show many different movies within a two hour motion picture length in the privacy of your own home.

And everything Osi said as well is correct.

CG

Comment

To answer the original poster’s question directly - you get both digests and full feature lengths on super 8. I believe you even get full features on regular 8.

Comment