Preventing Condensation on Film

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preventing Condensation on Film

I am fairly new to film collecting and have two questions about film storage that I didn't see directly addressed in other posts. When I first started collecting, I read that the best way to prevent film degradation was to store the film in a cold environment with low humidity. Knowing that, I sealed my reels of film in plastic bags and put them in a mini fridge. I sealed them because I worried that if I moved a reel from the cool environment of the refrigerator straight to the substantially warmer environment that exists outside of the refrigerator, the moisture in the air would condense on the film. By sealing the film, I figured that when I removed it from the refrigerator, it would start off surrounded by air of the same temperature as itself. The temperature of the air in the bag would then gradually increase, which I believe would result in less moisture condensing on the film.

Today I read an article about film preservation that recommends not sealing film in an airtight container. It claims that if film is stored in an airtight container, gases will build up, accelerating degradation. After searching the forum, I saw that this is a pretty well known fact.

So I pose these questions:

Is it worse to leave the film unsealed knowing it will attract moisture when taken out of storage, or is it worse to seal it in with the gas?

If leaving the film unsealed is the better option, is there any way to minimize the amount of condensation upon removing it from storage?

Any suggestions would be appreciated, I want to ensure that the film I have lasts for as long as possible

Aaron
    As I understand it, films must be able to breathe whilst being stored, thus, no airtight containers.
    This does not refer to raw film stock.
    You may be interested in the attached comments.
    Guidance Motion Pictures | National Archives

Comment