I Am One Very Happy Chappy !!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Am One Very Happy Chappy !!

I am NOT a mechanic. Opening the back of a projector scares the hell out of me. I have tried to meddle before, but learned my lessons the hard way. And if it is something to do with the electrics..... that is a NO NO full stop.

Browsing Ebay UK on Saturday afternoon, I came across and Elmo ST600M for sale. Excellent starting price. Probably too excellent. There was a chance to "Make an Offer." I looked at the description. All it said was "Projector. Like New," with a couple of pictures.

I know there is a saying that if it is too good to be true.... it usually is. But also there is instinct. It's happened to me before. I spotted a Disney Derann feature which only had a photo of the box art cover. The description was "like new." Thinking to myself that at the "Buy It Now" price they were asking, it could possibly be a 1x400' ...... except this item was never released as a 400' and the art work was certainly from the full feature. Anyway, working on my instinct, I took the gamble and it paid off big style. Sure enough, a few days later the full feature lands on my doorstep...... for a fraction of the price it was worth.

Back to last Saturday. My instinct was telling me that this may be a little gem. Priced far too low and tiny description. It just shouted that it was coming from someone not of our hobby. So, I offered a slightly higher price, and a little later it was accepted.
    Noticing the buyer only lived within a 30 minute drive, I emailed them to ask if I could collect it myself (the petrol costing far less than the postage did) the following day.

It was agreed.

So, Sunday morning I crossed the Humber Bridge to the nearby town to pick it up. I was greeted by a very nice lady. Said they have had it since new, hardly used it and had just been stored in a corner. It came with one or two extras, too!