Standard 8 polyester/acetate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Standard 8 polyester/acetate

I shot a couple of color rolls three years ago, and when I went to edit them this week I was surprised to find they were polyester base, so can't use cement splices.

I don't recall the make of film; it was some 25 foot double-8 roll. Does anyone know which films available in 2022 are polyester, and which (if any) are acetate? I'd rather not do tape splices if I can avoid it.

Thanks.

I've never used polyester based film only acetate. I also don't like using press tapes when making splices, nor do I like conventional film cement. So what do I use? Good ole Super Glue. I've been doing this for about 15 years. Super Glue is very strong, and will bond to film with no problems. I can also report films I spliced this way 15 years ago are still holding. I use a conventional film splicer. After making the cuts, and scraping off the emulsion, I use a toothpick to apply the Super Glue. The toothpick allows you to get most of the Super Glue on the film, and creates less mess. I let the two ends of film bond for a few minutes, works every time!

Comment

I've always found it strange that Superglue was originally known as Kodak 910 and invented by a Kodak employee
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Coover.
      Splice Kodak Estar base film with a Kodak originated glue!

Comment

I'll try super gluing some polyester and report back.

Comment

Originally posted by Peter Mork View Post
          I'll try super gluing some polyester and report back.
          Make sure you work quickly after you spread the Super Glue on the film. Coat the film lightly from end to end, but don't go overboard. This is where a toothpick will help as I mentioned earlier. Usually when I'm done letting the glue set-up, I'll check the film. I check the splice by flipping the film a few times to make sure it's secure.

Comment