Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lamps and color reproduction ...

Finally got around to posting ...

The question is, can the lamp you use whether halogen and Xenon (for examples) actually effect color reproduction on screen?

I ask as when I take photos with my camera of my projections, when the "white balance" is on, a faded print tends to actually look better than it is ...

So, if this could be a possibility, what would then be the best lamps to use for proper color reproduction on screen?

There are several things that can affect color when taking photos of projected images. I'm no expert, but I have learned a bit over the years. Bulbs have a CRI (Color Rendering Index) associated with them. I don't know the technical meaning, but I do know it relates to how accurately the bulb's light shows colors. 100% is the ideal, which many projector bulbs claim. I'm not sure if our eyes can easily detect differences if the CRI is a bit lower (90%, 95%), so it isn't something I worry about.

White balance (WB) is probably the most important factor, as you've seen. The auto WB setting might be "cooler" or "warmer" looking than what the projector's image is, and that might make the color look better to you. In shooting video of my 8mm films, I have a bit of a dilemma as to whether I should honor the projected image, or try to make them look as good as they can (to my eyes). For now I'm setting a manual WB at the same temp (K) as the bulb, but I'll probably fool around with WB in post when I get around to editing my results.

Other things that can affect color when shooting photos of projections include exposure settings that might make the image brighter or darker (ISO, f-stop, shutter speed), but they won't have as dramatic effect on color as WB.

I hope that answers your question, rather than confuses the issue.

Comment

DEFINITELY YES.