Getting an old Argus Showmaster S500 up and running

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting an old Argus Showmaster S500 up and running

Hello! This is my first time on here, so many apologies if I get any etiquette or formatting etc wrong.

I've got an Argus Showmaster S500 8mm projector that I inherited from my in-laws, along with a stack of reels that they're hoping I can digitize.

The motor and bulb work just fine. However, it appears that the rubber on the drive wheel has almost entirely disintegrated. As a result of at that (at minimum, there could be other problems that I haven't yet identified), the Forward setting doesn't work, and the Reverse setting is inconsistent at best, as the drive wheel isn't properly engaging with the drum that would advance the film (I'm probably getting some of the terminology wrong here).

I've looked around and seen that replacement drive wheels are available, though the cost of them seems not that much cheaper than just buying a whole working projector. I have a half-baked idea that if I can get at the drive wheel itself, I might be able to hack something together with rubber bands or something similar to get it working without having to replace the whole part. But I'm not 100% confident in how to correctly disassemble the motor etc to get to it. The manual for the projector wasn't with it when they gave it to me, and they haven't been able to find it anywhere.