Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the best home solution for digitizing 8mm and Super 8? Wolverine Pro? or?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best home solution for digitizing 8mm and Super 8? Wolverine Pro? or?

Hi all - Newbie here. I see many posts are older, so I'm asking for an update on this. What is the best solution for home digitizing of 8mm and Super 8? And how do you handle sound with Super 8?

Thanks!

Well that depends.

Like any other hobbies (and even some professionalism) this boils down to 2 questions. Where you are at the moment? And where will your "goal" be?

For most amateurs with not-so-high expection those Wolverine scanners - including those rebranded ones seems to be the best option (actually THE ONLY OPTION). It ticks every box except the resultant quality, which leaves a lot to be desired.

The other solution would be probably DIY route. But will be sure wildly variable. Could be anything from total failure to near-professional result and anything between.

As soon as those 2 questions answered, things will be a bit easier then.

PS I chose DIY route. Went through hell for years to finally get some acceptable results.
    (Negative film & home brew processing, hence the massive grain.)

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.jpg
Views:	615
Size:	158.3 KB
ID:	15026

Comment

I got a Wolverine Pro from B&H Photo. I've got tons of old films my parents took since I was born 72 years ago and film from 50 years of my marriage to my wonderful wife.