Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for a Telecine at the Gate Set-up

Hey folks,
    I am new to the game here. I am incorporating 8mm film transfers into my existing Vhs/slide/photo/ digitizing business..
    I am trying my best to get the best quality film transfers to Digital. I am pretty happy with my existing set-up of capturing the projected film onto a small screen. I do have an issue with flickering at times, which I would love to get rid of. What I would really like to accomplish is a rock-solid set up that just captures at the film gate...and I guess I'd like to find some kind of Dimmable LED light..

Currently I am using an Elmo Sound ST-600 and a Panasonic Gh4

As a Side note, I am also wondering about buying into this system, does anyone have any experience with this company?
    they are called Film-Digital https://en.film-digital.com/, and they do have interesting option here, but quite pricey..

Thanks!

Brent

What's missing from your setup is the optical part - the lens for "projecting" the image right into the camera's sensor (oh and the LED as the light source as well).

Otherwise it's more or less the same as what you already have - a modified projector and a camera with excellent video capability.

Comment

Just wanted to add that they modify the projector for 16.66ms frame (60 FPS). So if you set your video recorder to 60 FPS you will get flickerless transfer.
      https://en.film-digital.com/product-...-bauer-t502-n8
      Plus they add the variable intensity LED. But the kit is pretty pricey.
      Replacing the light in the projector with the LED is not that hard but I have not seen any telecine DIY "quartz" control motors. People generally implement a variable speed control or go frame-by-frame with a trigger signal.
      I have some ideas how you can implement that. It involves a feedback from the claw mechanism into the motor controller.

Comment

Thanks Stan and Nantawat..