Wolverine MM Pro workflow newbie help please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wolverine MM Pro workflow newbie help please

I purchased a Wolverine MM Pro to digitize a box of old 8mm and Super8 films of my fathers. I have tinkered with two films so far and I have some questions.
    1. Do any of you have a "Best Practices" for this project? I have read the manual and many websites and forums. I have also watch many youtube videos, some good some not so good.
    2. I understand every film can be different but do you have a good rule of thumb or guidelines for the settings on the Wolverine?
    3. I have some experience with Photoshop Elements 2019 and recently bought 2021. I want to use PSE to edit the mp4s.
    4. Do any of you have advice on the proper sequence of editing?
    5. Should i crop the mp4 image first or last?
    6. Should I apply shake stabilization first or last in my workflow?
    7. When should I apply the "Time Stretch" first or last in my workflow?

I am just trying to establish proper procedures before I do all of these films.
    I would appreciate any advice or links to websites that would help me with this.
    Thank you very much for your help
    Todd Larson

This might not answer all your questions and probably sounds like a Wolverine-hater, but after reading lots of review/seeing tons of sample videos/playing around with one sample unit for a while. I have to say that it's not up to my request.

- No real manual exposure control, just some sort of AE compensation.
    - No manual white balance at all, AWB all the time.
    - The latitude is quite limited. On contrasty images (outdoor shot on Kodachrome for example) you can get either highlight or shadow detail, but no both.

The possible solution is to have "bracket scan" - neutral exposure, underexposure and overexposure scan (yes three pass per film). Then select the best possible for each shot in the editing process.