Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digitizing Super 8 film with sound capture

Hi Everyone-
    I am a newbie, and very happy to have found this forum. I've got Super 8 film of my kids very young in the 80's, want to digitize those reels plus a lot of older 8mm movies my dad took. I have had a Wolverine Moviemaker Pro for a couple of weeks now. Not really crazy about it, the documentation leaves a lot to be desired, my film kept getting stuck in the machine, plus some of the results look pretty grainy and with rapid color and brightness changes. I now have a couple of 30-minute Super 8 films digitized but of course without sound. I'm looking for a way to bring sound and the movie together. I have an iMac and work with iMovie a bit, it has some capability for merging sound files with film. I also have a Bell and Howell Soundstar projector, I have run some film through it, it makes some noise and recording the sound directly may not be the best option. I see the projector has an output for a speaker to be attached, but I don't have the right jack and my headphone jack set off a loud hum when I plugged it into the speaker output. (1) I am hoping there is an affordable film digitizer that includes sound, and gives better picture quality. (2) In case there isn't any such digitizer, I'm also trying to figure out a way to get the sound from my projector without a lot of noise, maybe finding the right jack will make all the difference. I would appreciate hearing from anyone who had done or is trying to do the same thing. It seem like the only other choice is sending your films to a digitizing service which I really don't want to do. Thanks.

Robert,