Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie help....

Hi everyone!

I'm new here, and thanks for reading my post. Hopefully no one is put off, I'm still learning. And boy have I found there's a lot I don't know.

After poking around a few days, I'm probably more confused than I was when I started, lol. Hopefully folks can point me in the right direction to help me use my time most efficiently!

The short version... My dad has roughly 5-10k ft of super 8, and a few hundred... may 1k feet of 8mm film. He "transferred" it to VHS using his camcorder recording off the wall back in the early 90's... at SLP speed, on a very inexpensive unit, and with the audio feed from the mic recording the room at the time. Not ideal...

I'd like to get professional quality transfer of the film stock, including pulling in the audio. I'd like to color correct, and remove as much scratch/dust as possible too. I looked into some of the professional services that use wet transfer and correction, but for the amount of footage I have I can't justify the cost... it was like $10k+ including the processing work.

I found a "cheap" unit on amazon that seems to be the "wolverine" or a rebrand. it didn't seem great, and figured there was something better. Then I found this site, and blew my mind...

Is there a good resource I should check out to figure out the options one has these days? seems like there's the "wolverine" unit, some possibilities to mod that unit, professional transfer, and some type of custom frame by frame option? did I miss anything?

What's the best quality I can get? What's the best option I can get without professional services and minimal soldering/3d printing? (or is that a pipe dream?

Seems like there's a minimum amount of work I need to plan for which is learning software to process/correct the footage...

Thanks for help! I'm super impressed with the creativity and ingenuity in this community!

-jack