Wolverine - Change Frame Rate without Re-Encoding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wolverine - Change Frame Rate without Re-Encoding

Hello, Sorry if this has been covered already. If so, if someone could refer me to a useful thread that would be great. I am looking to improve the results from my Wolverine Super 8 transfers. I need to change the frame rate to 18fps without losing quality re-encoding. I am a novice with this, and learning as I go. I'm finding this is not so easy lol. If anyone can help me I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks

Paul

My only option is a freeware called VirtualDub. It does allow you to adjust frame rate to anything you'd like to without any sort of re-compression. That means zero quality loss and lightning fast.
    The only catch is its steep (and I mean STEEP) learning curve. But once you get a hang out of it, you can do TONS of things besides framrate conversion. Worth the try.

Comment

Ok thanks. Yes I tried Virtualdub but the originals from the Wolverine are MP4. I don't see the option to import MP4 files.

Comment

Works for me. Try VirtualDub2.

Comment

Thanks for the replies! I managed to change the frame rate to 18fps with ffmpeg. A little tricky but worked great. Now I'm just now trying to find the best way to add audio to my clips without re-encoding. Any suggestions? Thanks again

Comment

Paul, ffmpeg duplicates and/or deletes the frames for frame rate change. VirtualDub uses frame interpolation i.e. it detects the motion vectors for each pixel and generates interpolation frames. It gives you nice smooth panning. I have not done much audio but there are so many people in this forum with lots of audio experience. Hope they read your post.

Comment