Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• John Lennon

Something for you to think about.....

At approximately 10pm on December 8th 2020 New York time, or 3am December 9th 2020 London time, John Lennon will have been dead for EXACTLY the same amount of time that he was EVER alive.

So, think about it...... You remember what you were doing on that tragic December day in 1980 when you heard the news. Well, the gap between then and whatever you are doing on 8th/9th December............ was his entire life.

I still miss him so so much.

Yes Melvin , although you are a week early , I was on my way to work when the news flashed across my car radio !
    I was so shocked I had to pull off the road and listen to the news report .
    Who would want to kill John Lennon ?
    It was terrible and showed me we are now living in a different time .

Continue to R.I.P. John Lennon

Comment

I was a college freshman: a lazy college freshman. College didn't collect Physics lab reports every week like high school did, just insisted they all be in on December 9th. I wrote basically every one up that week and that night was crunch time!

We got the news in our dorm around 11PM. I was maybe 60 miles away so it was still local news. I was a Beatles fan, so I had to take a little time to talk about it, but an "F" was in my future if I didn't get every last report in! I pressed on: midnight, 1AM, 2AM, 3AM....My 18 year old brain, became 40 years old, 70 years old, and gradually reverted to three, two...I'm sure by 5AM the laws of Physics were taking a beating: graphs looked like they were done in Crayon! It really didn't matter: it was just for a checkmark in the professor's notebook.

Maybe 9AM I staggered over to the Physics building and dumped off the pile: I had made it! I went back to the dorm and fell into bed roughly 10AM: the latest I ever went to bed.