8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Why collect?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Why collect?
Jan Adolfsson
Film Handler

- posted October 19, 2012 07:59 AM      Profile for Jan Adolfsson   Email Jan Adolfsson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi,
I'm a complete beginner in this forum and I've just bought my first lot of Ken Super 8 films: Star Wars, Spiderman, Mash and a few others.

I have a couple of questions I think could be interesting to discuss so here goes. Why do you collect Super 8 films?

Is it because you like the feeling of handling and watching real film?

Or do you treat your collection as an investment? As I've understood, the films will, no matter how well you treat them, all eventually and gradually fade. When all films have faded what will then happened to the collection value? Will it be reduced to nothing?

For myself - I do it for the fun of it. For my love of real film And for the beautiful artwork :-)

But I'm not so eager to invest in the more expensive stuff since I'm afraid it's value with time will amount to nothing.

|  IP: Logged

Winbert Hutahaean
Film God

- posted October 19, 2012 08:16 AM      Profile for Winbert Hutahaean     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Jan,

First, welcome to the forum. You will meet many great people here who are willing to help you should you meet difficulties with your new hobby.

Regarding your question, your first guess is the most of us do that we like handling and watching real film.

Personally, I never think that I am investing money in my collection. I only sell films that multiple title or odd reels.

quote:
the films will, no matter how well you treat them, all eventually and gradually fade.