8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Sankyo 700 cracked gear, need replacement

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Sankyo 700 cracked gear, need replacement
Seth McKevlin
Junior

- posted February 24, 2014 09:57 PM      Profile for Seth McKevlin   Email Seth McKevlin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey guys, first time poster here. I recently bought my first projector and I'm brand new to the hobby. It seems to work fine except it slows down every few frames on a regular basis. I read lots of FAQs prior to jumping in and I made sure to buy new belts as soon as I got the projector. While replacing them, I think I finally figured out what's causing the regular slowdown, the cracked gear shown in this picture. The slowdown occurs when the crack is against the metal gear/shaft above it. My question to you guys is, how in the heck do I find a replacement gear? The projector I have is a Sankyo Sound 700. I assume many of the other Sankyo models made around the same time would use a similarly-sized gear in this area. Does anyone have a spare or know where I could purchase one? Thanks in advance!

-

|  IP: Logged

Seth McKevlin
Junior

- posted March 16, 2014 08:24 PM      Profile for Seth McKevlin   Email Seth McKevlin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
No replies yet, so I thought I'd bump my topic by adding another question. I could probably super glue the gear or maybe even find a newly-manufactured gear of the same size, but I'm hesitant to start taking it apart in order to get to it. Has anyone worked on this model or have any tips? I know I'll be taking lots of pictures and video of the deconstruction!

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted March 16, 2014 08:48 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey Seth,

Welcome to the 8mm Forum!