8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » I am very new to 8mm and could use a lot of help!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I am very new to 8mm and could use a lot of help!
Rachelle Tolbert
Junior

- posted July 21, 2014 10:22 PM      Profile for Rachelle Tolbert   Email Rachelle Tolbert   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I recently got a Bell & Howell model 253-R at a barn sale for cheap... it still works and I thought it was pretty neat. I like early technologies and how innovative they were, so that's mainly why I got it. I then went on ebay and purchased a few 8mm films that weren't too expensive... but they're super 8 format. They are both disney (Sorcerer's Apprentice from Fantasia, and the Prince vs the Dragon from Sleeping Beauty).

I then came to realize (this is how little I know about this stuff) that super 8 reels have a different sized center hole from normal 8mm reels. SO I bought some plastic adapters that fit into the center of the super 8 reels. However, the adapters I got were way too tight when combined with the reel and the projector's spindle... what I mean is they fit perfectly inside the reel, and they slide perfectly onto the spindle without the reel, but when I fit the adapter in the reel and then try to squeeze it onto the spindle it just goes on halfway before stopping because it appears to be too tight.

Did I get the wrong ones? There only seem to be 1 type of adapters on ebay so I figured they were all universal... but if they were universal then how come it doesn't fit when the reel is put onto the spindle? [Frown]

Any help would be appreciated. The adapters I got were these ones.

|  IP: Logged

Janice Glesser
Film Goddess

- posted July 21, 2014 10:41 PM      Profile for Janice Glesser     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post