8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Leader thickness

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Leader thickness
Barbara Strohl
Film Handler

- posted March 23, 2016 12:25 PM      Profile for Barbara Strohl   Email Barbara Strohl   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Are all leaders the same thickness?

I thought that s8 leaders were just slightly thicker than the film itself. Is this true?
Are 8mm leaders also thicker than the film?

I'm sorry for the noob question but I am looking to make a rig that is dependant on uniform thickness.

Thanks.

--------------------
Barb

I'm an amateur noob. Please be gentle.

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted March 23, 2016 12:55 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Barbara,

Welcome!

This is one of those things that's hard to generalize.

For one thing not all film is the same thickness. You have acetate and polyester bases for example with acetate thicker than poly. You also have acetate and poly leaders which should also be different thicknesses. As you mix and match these materials you can get all sorts of combinations of thickness.

What you run into is film gear was designed to be very tolerant of film thickness, so it is the one dimension of all of them that isn't as critical. The only time you run into trouble is splicing stock of different thicknesses and experiencing a slight loss in focus when you project the film.

Most of my splicing is beveled acetate splicing and the two beveled edges match between leader and film, so I feel semi-safe saying Kodak acetate film and leader are the same thickness...in my experience...as far as I know!