8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » local museum asks me to check films

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: local museum asks me to check films
Mal Brake
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted August 23, 2005 04:43 PM      Profile for Mal Brake     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have been asked by a local Mining Museum to clean, check and advise them on the content of a number of 16mm coal mining films. These films were last used over 20 years ago and the museum hadn't access to a 16mm projector. I picked up the films today and have begun repairs (splices, leaders etc). As my background is in mining as an electrician this should be interesting work.
Mal

--------------------
I'm gonna live forever or die trying

|  IP: Logged

Jean-Marc Toussaint
Film God

- posted August 24, 2005 03:12 AM      Profile for Jean-Marc Toussaint   Author's Homepage   Email Jean-Marc Toussaint   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Mal, this is a cool (coal?) assignement! [Wink]
Good luck on the restoration job.

--------------------
The Grindcave Cinema Website

David Pannell
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted August 24, 2005 03:39 AM      Profile for David Pannell   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Nice opportunity, Mal, to use your expertise and background for the benefit of the good old celluloid.

Dave.

--------------------
Dave.

Valves and celluloid - a great combination!
Early technology rules OK!

Adrian Winchester
Film God

- posted August 24, 2005 01:48 PM      Profile for Adrian Winchester     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How nice to hear this, as opposed to something like 'I found a load of old films in a skip outside a museum!'