8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » Homemade Screen Project Done

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Homemade Screen Project Done
Claus Harding
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted February 11, 2011 10:05 PM      Profile for Claus Harding   Email Claus Harding   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Since I got my ST-1200 back to life about 5 years ago, I have wanted a real screen again.
I have been lucky that my little apartment has a nice-sized end wall to roll my 8 and 16mm films on, but the notion of "sacriledge" kept raising its voice when I ran the films; something had to be done [Big Grin]

With that in mind, enter an old 'find' of mine.
20-some years ago I worked as an A/V technician, and one of the little perks of the job was when the company did inventory. Any 'odd' or misplaced items basically got thrown out. As in: you could take them home.
I wound up with a Da-Lite 9.5-by-12ft. screen surface which got put away for....well, future use of some kind (I tend to do that...)

It sat in an old road case with rotting foam, in my mother's (humid) basement all this time. I pulled it out. It was badly packed. Wrinkled. A bit dirty. But it was in one piece, and, miraculously, all the serious dirt was on the backside. I decided to give it a shot.

To start, some vacuuming and a bit of Windex:

-

For the frame, after measuring, I went to my local wonderful hardware store. They cut pine wood for me (one-by-three is what the frame is made of) with a slimmer piece for the center support.
Here's the left leg with the half-frame:

-

I am by no means a "natural-born carpenter", but I can drive screws in with a power gun, so with angle braces, this is how the frame came together:

-