Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Automatic threading not working on Bauer T240 (Sound)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Automatic threading not working on Bauer T240 (Sound)

Hi,

this is my first post to this forum and while I have tried to read up on the forum policies and etiquette, I apologise in advance in case my post is violating any rules inadvertently.
    I'm also new to projectors of any type, so I'm still trying to learn he correct name for the various parts.

I have inherited a Bauer T-240 Sound projector from my late Father and am trying to get it back to working condition.
    The projector was working initially (including the automatic threading), but only sporadically. The drive belt seemed quite worn and assuming that this was the root cause for the issues I encountered, I replaced this with the appropriate spare part.
    However, now I have a new problem and this is that the automatic threading of film no longer works. When inserting film, it feels as if the film is blocked by an obstacle and can't progress any further.

From what I can make out, the film appears to be blocked by the two pins (see picture) that are meant to thread into the holes on the side of the film and transport it. These pins are only moving in and up and down motions and are never moving out of the way of the film (I'm probably not describing this very well, I hope it makes some sense).

I have uploaded some short clips of the issue to YT in the hope that this might further illustrate the issue.

1. Trying to thread some film : https://youtu.be/SM2NaBi3XRQ
    2. Some slow-mo of the threading pins (?) in operation : https://youtu.be/T9ykBr1afL0

It seems pretty clear to me that I have broken something when changing the belt, but for the life of me I can't figure out what it is. Any pointers to further troubleshooting approaches would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance,
    Peter