Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A series of expensive mistakes, a newbies journey into 8mm

Hi all,

Just joined today after reading a few posts and seems like you guys genuinely care about this passion for 8mm / Super 8mm and all the lovely surrounding aspects.

I am 48 (born in '74) and my late father brought us up with cine. We would watch Harold Lloyd, Laurel and Hardy and all sorts of really old silent movies. I decided about 10 years ago to set up a scanning company as a side hassle after we lost nearly all the family photographs. Thus I am a semi expert in old photographs, slides and negatives and how to digitise them, having spent thousands on bits of kit.... however cine... it's like a new world!

So what brings me to you? Well it's simple enough. Dad passed away 7 years ago at just 68 and I keep finding things. On Friday I found a roll of cine film. Thus I thought buy a cine projector and off I go... Saturday saw me spend £30 and 2 hours collecting 3 projections and a camera from a chap claiming they work. He was of course half right... they do work but I did not know you needed bulbs, belts and patience!

In the Saturday haul was a whole load of receipts and Telegrams about one of the units from Crookes in Sheffield (where my step Dad randomly grew up). On Monday after ordering belts and one 'spaceman' bulb I spotted another unit (Sankyo) which I thought may be good for spares. It was £5 and would be great... except it's a 'H' and mine was not.

I think what I have done is potentially buy a fair pile of scrap. I could be wrong of course. Looking through threads of you true experts, I think these are the machines you would expect to be thrown out. I have the following:

1. Sankyo Dualux 1000H (Bulb- hanimex a1/231 12volts 100w). Missing belt, some perishing still there (ordered new one). All fires up well. Bulb looks shot though. One on order. Has instruction book, looks like might be good (one of my £30 haul)