8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Splicing on to Bigger Reels

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Splicing on to Bigger Reels
Ernie Zahn
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted October 22, 2013 02:21 PM      Profile for Ernie Zahn   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey all,

I'm new to the world of mounting things on 1200' reels. I'm really looking forward to a couple reels switches for features. What I'm wondering is, how do you all mount them?

I don't mean how do you splice :-P I mean do you keep the original leaders and tales on those reels or do you cut right up to the frame to make a more seamless viewing experience?

I'm a little afraid to hack away that much of the film. Especially with rare and hard to find prints. These frames are precious!

Also, for the people that sync sound from a DVD or something else, I have to imagine that you are splicing to frame, otherwise how do you keep it in sync?

--------------------
Check out the trailer for my feature length Spaghetti-style Western:

Six and Bisti

|  IP: Logged

Maurice Leakey
Film God

- posted October 22, 2013 02:38 PM      Profile for Maurice Leakey   Email Maurice Leakey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Copy the 35mm technique, cut off leads and tails but leave one frame on the end of the lead, and one frame at the beginning of the tail. This is assuming you are using tape splices that can eventually be pulled apart.
The reason why cinemas used this technique was to be doubly sure that the correct leads and tails were re-attached to the 2000' rolls (UK), spools (US), before their return to the renters, or a cross-over to another cinema.

--------------------
Maurice

Tom Photiou
Film God

- posted October 22, 2013 02:54 PM      Profile for Tom Photiou     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post