8mm at the gate; need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8mm at the gate; need help!

Hello all, my name is Jay and I am new hear but been following for some time. I am new to direct copy at the gate but here is where I am at: GL2500 dual 8, variable speed projector, converted to dimmable LED, glass defuser with "paper" on either side, no hot spots! , 16mm 2" 1.6 lens (seems to work perfect), Canon Optica Xi MiniDV camcorder w/10X manual zoom, 44X digital. At this point focus near perfect, image fills the gate. However, here is where things start going south, cannot fill view finder or software viewer, had to add 2.2X zoom adapter with "macro" attached, still not quite there (focal length issues? and present software requires either "burn directly to DVD or create VOB file). Created VOB, used "VOB2AVI", inverted and mirror image but good focus, used VirtualDUB to correct. And another issue now appears, combing and video noise. Handbrake (OBTW, handbrake corrects video size also!) takes care of deinterlace/combing effect perfectly, tried Neat Video 5 for noise but either does nothing or makes things worse! I think I have way "over processed" video at this point because results are very "dirty or grainy", lost resolution and much to dark ( To Much "Operator Error" ). Where should I start? Ayone using vdub? Any recommendations for a filter chain? Sorry so long, just frustrated at this point! Any all suggestions appreciated! Regards, Jay F. Wisconsin

Jacques P. Fontaine Take a deep breath and I'll start by addressing some of the issues I see with what you have described. I'm sure others will chime in too.

Canon Optura Xi Mini camcorder w/ 10x optical zoom and 44x digital zoom.
    You need to set the zoom to digital. The camera will use the 10x optical zoom then kick in a little digital zoom so that the frame image will fill the sensor (view finder). In this case you should not need a zoom adapter or macro lens if using the 16mm 2" lens.