Standard 8mm projector to Canon EOS 5D video capture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Standard 8mm projector to Canon EOS 5D video capture

I'm a complete newbie wanting to capture Standard 8mm footage from a projector with a Canon EOS 5D Mk II camera in video mode.

The following link encouraged me - https://vimeo.com/20950590 (the written description is a better introduction than the video). However, using the back element of a 35mm lens as a field flattener for the projection lens struck me as way too uncertain, albeit the captured videos seem rather good.

On reflection, it occurred to me that, aside from susbstituting the projector lamp with an LED and possibly enlarging the film gate slightly, it would only be neccessary to point my camera, equipped with bellows and a suitable Zeiss Luminar macro lens, at that very gate.

But, on reading other posts here, I became aware of the issues of flicker and video frame rates. I live in the UK, where our mains supply is 50 Hz, our TV is PAL and my projector is a Sankyo Dualux 1000.

I should be extremely grateful for any advice as to what to be aware of, particularly regarding projector speed, video frame rates and anything else that might be relevant.

Also, I have been stunned by the quality of pictures from some exotic DIY frame by frame recordings, although the complexity of these set-ups is quite beyond me. Could the quality of video I obtain possibly equal these?

Been there, done that. And I also live in PAL land.

Your Sankyo probably does have 3 blade shutter. In theory set your projector's speed at 16.67fps, then set your camera at 50p mode with 1/50 shutter speed. This will give you best possible for real time capture - virtually flicker free at least.