8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » 16mm Bell and Howell 2585

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: 16mm Bell and Howell 2585
Bill Kind
Junior

- posted March 20, 2015 04:55 PM      Profile for Bill Kind   Email Bill Kind   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all, new to the forum and new to using film projectors. I recently was given the task of converting old 16mm films. I have a Bell and Howell 2585 projector that seems to be working fine, but when I project the film, I am unable to get an image that can be made out. It almost seems that the speed is too fast, but I don't see any speed adjustment on the 2585 model. Also, how far away from the wall/screen should I set up the projector? Sorry for the questions, but I'm a novice and looking forward to dusting off these old film reels. Thanks in advance.

|  IP: Logged

Janice Glesser
Film Goddess

- posted March 20, 2015 05:05 PM      Profile for Janice Glesser     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Without a variable speed projector you will see flicker on your video. I'm not familiar with the specs on the 2585...but if it can run at 24fps and if your camcorder can record and 24fps...you will have better results. If not then you will need another projector to do telecine transfers.

Here are a couple alternative setups I've used with good results.

Keystone Variable Speed 16mm Projector Model 160 projected to a mirror and ground glass telecine unit.
 -

This method is more like you are doing. I'm using a Elmo 16CL running at 24fps and recording with a Canon HV40 using the 24f setting.
 -

[ March 20, 2015, 06:09 PM: Message edited by: Janice Glesser ]

--------------------
Janice

"I'm having a very good day!"
Richard Dreyfuss - Let It Ride (1989).

Bill Kind
Junior